Efta Agreement Countries

Article 126 of the WITHDRAWAL AGREEMENT between the EU and the UK provides for a transitional period until 31 December 2020. It follows from Article 129 of the Withdrawal Agreement that the United Kingdom is bound, during the transitional period, to the obligations arising from international agreements concluded by the EU, including the EEA Agreement. The EEA-EFTA States have agreed to consider the United Kingdom as an EU Member State during this period. Accordingly, the rights and obligations between the United Kingdom and the EEA-EFTA States contained in the EEA Agreement remain valid until 31 December 2020. This text briefly describes how the European integration of the EFTA States has taken place since the creation of EFTA in 1960. It shows that European integration has initiated political changes in countries and spheres that are not within the framework of the EU institutions.